PR is a Journey

 I begin to panic because I start telling myself, ‘You’ve never done this.’

There are many nights when lay awake thinking about my next move, or how my future logo will look and new people to add to my ‘red book.’ Yes, my red book…because it’s hot and full of powerful connections!  I toss and turn because I’m thinking of new ventures and diversions that could sky-rocket my PR career. I do admit, I get ahead of myself at times. But, I often have to remind myself that my skillset and brand will need some time to grow.

At the moment, I’m interning with a publicist from Atlanta. Although it requires a lot (A LOT!) of research, I enjoy the work. She gives me weekly assignments and sometimes, I begin to panic because I start telling myself, ‘You’ve never done this, and I sure don’t want to tell her that!’ So, I do the tasks and like Tim Gunn says, I ‘make it work.’ I learn so much along the way that I realize, I wouldn’t have been able to start my own brand without this knowledge and practice. I realized that much grooming has to be made before I can jumpstart ANYTHING!

Ah! Patience is truly a virtue. I realized that you need much of it working in PR. I cannot tell you how many days I’ve wasted alone on RESEARCH! Trying to find the right person of contact, the perfect event or fundraiser for our clients, in a particular area…ugh! My head hurts at times. There has been miscommunication errors, email mishaps, and plenty of unanswered phone calls. Maybe there was something I did, said, didn’t do…who knows! My mentor has had to correct me on plenty, but yet, I love it 🙂 I’ve made things happen; a movie premier, event appearances, store openings…all because of me! That’s an accomplishment!

Yet, my journey isn’t over. I still have so much to learn. I hope you’re able to follow along with me through my ups and downs 🙂

This post was random, but thanks for listening.

6 comments

  1. I do love a random post! It sounds like you’re reflecting on your journey so far and can see how much you’ve learned! Keep going. Lots of love xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

