Via Social Media

“Social media works when there are active participants.” – Dr. Michelle Groover 🙂

I’d like to think that social media exists only because people are active and constantly looking to connect or engage with the world around them. Ten years ago, we could get by without social media or the internet, but not today. It’s almost impossible to be without connection via some type of social circle, app or site. We’ve become crippled to clutching our phones in our hands at all times, that it’s become second nature. People literally experience ‘FOMO’ (fear of missing out) when away from their phones, tablets or computers for more than two hours!

It’s true, social media can affect us both positively and negatively if we’re not ‘connected.’ Being active via social media can affect the mental health, academic status of students or the overall well-being of an individual (Flad, 2010). On the other hand, social media can enhance a person’s communication and technology skills, team-work ethic and networking efforts for career growth. So, the positives and negatives find balance (depending on the individual).

My social media involvement is considerably high, but I accomplish so many tasks because of it. I have gained jobs, professional connections and social friends in parts of the world that I’ve never to explore. Social media has also been my main source to contact and connect with my family; those that do not live in Georgia. I’ve even met new family members through Facebook!

Looking at the photo, I’d consider myself a producer of features and works via social media; definitely beneficial. In my five years (Yes, FIVE!) of college education, I’ve learned to use many different publishing softwares and social mediums that it has positively contributed to my growth as a Fashion PR enthusiast. Social media connections are working for me, what about you?

social-media-participation

What do you consider yourself? A producer of features, a commentator of work, a gatherer of great reads, a joiner of social connections, or an observer of everything and everyone? 

2 comments

  1. Ha! I like the term ‘FOMO’ (fear of missing out) – I’m really trying to not be so attached to my devices, but it’s tough.
    I was mostly a Commentator for years but since starting my blog, I guess I have crossed over to a Producer – I now even have an Instagram account which I never thought I would before.
    Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is extremely hard trying to step away from technology, but its taught me much. It’s great that you’ve made your transition…it’s nice to see how far people have come when learning new things.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

