5 Skills

As I’ve said before, I am not a PR guru. I am just a student trying to get my foot in the door like every other student looking to be successful. In doing research, I composed a list of skills that I’m learning and figured will help many PR enthusiasts. Many students, like myself, become intimidated when reading job descriptions or feel that we aren’t good enough because we don’t possess certain skills.

Well, I’m here to help you through it all and will continue to do so throughout my career.


These five skills will help set us apart and give us superiority during internships:

1. Graphic Design

Many PR firms utilize design programs to create fliers, pitches and press clippings, which are tasks most interns will handle. Basic knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite will help tremendously, especially for Photoshop, InDesign and Illustrator.

2. Research 

I feel that this skill essential to any job. We research every day for product reviews and online shopping, right? This is the most natural. I read that PR agencies are in awe of interns that can find and organize media/industry contact information that isn’t readily available on the internet or in phone books.

Cision and Fashion Monitor are two sites (with associated costs) I found can help you get started. A useful tip that I learned as well is to compile editors, stylists, journalists, designers, etc. (that you admire) in an excel spreadsheet with notes. This helps you create your own media lists over-time.

3. Photography

As we see on social media, photography is making a huge impact in every area of our lives. I suggest playing with different photo apps and utilizing Instagram (ensuring tags are used efficiently). I’m sure PR agencies are not expecting to hire expert interns, but possessing an eye for photography is a plus.

4. Communication

Public relations requires effective communication skills. Being able to communicate strengths and weaknesses, by this I mean be honest about your skills and what you can offer because employers are depending on these talents you ‘speak’ of. Also, proving that you’re interested in expanding and developing your growth helps agencies better understand you.

5. Blogging

Of course! I read interviews all the time where agency owners state that they admire dedicated bloggers. This shows that you have writing aesthetic and proves a basic understanding for generating content. When sending a resume, include your blog URL and make sure its current with eye-grabbing posts. Most importantly, be sure to proofread before posting!


I hope this helps you all, as it is helping me. Please share and comment any questions or tips you have that will benefit the student PR community!

Photo source: Google

2 comments

Leave a Reply

